A “Block” is an empty (place-holder) appointment in your calendar. It is the quickest and easiest way to make yourself unavailable for appointments for either a single time slot, or multiple time slots in a row. Below you'll find tips and instructions on using blocks using the Genbook Website and Manager apps for iPhone and Android. 

First, a few pro tips on using Blocks 🤓 

  • Use Blocks for one-time or random unavailability. To set recurring unavailability (e.g. make every Monday at 9am unavailable), use Staff Hours.
  • You can't put appointments over Blocks, the way you can over Offline, Away and even Closed times. A Block is technically already an appointment.
  • To change a Block into an appointment, you should first delete the Block, then add a new appointment in its place. (Changing a Block into an appointment by selecting a service and filling in customer details will cause problems in your Genbook account.)
  • When deleting a staff member, you will first need to delete all future Blocks from their calendar.

⏤⏤⏤⏤⏤⏤⏤⏤⏤⏤⏤⏤⏤⏤⏤

Click for step-by-step instructions on creating and editing Blocks:

Genbook Website

Genbook Manager for iPhone

Genbook Manager for Android

⏤⏤⏤⏤⏤⏤⏤⏤⏤⏤⏤⏤⏤⏤⏤

Genbook Website

1. To create a Block, hover over the time slot in your Calendar and click the word “Block”.

The time slot immediately becomes “Blocked”.

Because it's basically an empty appointment, editing a Block is just like editing an appointment.

Editing your Block

1. Click on the Blocked time and you’ll see the Edit Appointment form. From there, you can edit the length of the block, or even move it to a different time/date, if you need to.

It’s even possible to write a Memo on a Block. This way, you can easily see, in your Calendar, why you’ve created the Block.

Deleting a Block

If block a time slot by accident, click on the Block in your Calendar. Then, click “Cancel Appointment”. 

Confirm that you want to cancel the Block when prompted.

↑ back to top ↑
⏤⏤⏤⏤⏤⏤⏤⏤⏤⏤⏤⏤⏤⏤⏤

Genbook Manager for iPhone

To create a Block:

1. Press (tap and hold) a time slot you want to block.
2. Choose "Block" from the options.

Once you've added a block, you can also edit it. Move it, change the length, add a memo, and even delete it if you no longer need it. The first step to editing it is always to tap on the Block in your calendar. 

To edit the length of a Block

1. Tap the Block in your calendar
2. Tap "Edit" at the top right.

3. Tap "Start"
4. Tap "Duration" and set the new length, then tap "Done" at the top right.

Make sure you tap "Block" again at the top right to save your changes if you're finished editing your block. 

To add a Memo to a Block

Tap the block in your Calendar, tap Edit at the top right

  1. Tap into the memo field and edit your memo. Then tap Block at the top right if you've finished your edits. 
  2. Your block will now have a "memo" icon at the top right in the calendar

To delete a Block

Tap the block in your Calendar, tap Edit

  1. Tap Cancel Appointment at the bottom
  2. Tap Yes when asked to confirm. 

↑ back to top ↑

⏤⏤⏤⏤⏤⏤⏤⏤⏤⏤⏤⏤⏤⏤⏤

Genbook Manager for Android

To create a Block:

  1. Press (tap and hold) a time slot you want to block.
  2. Choose "Block" from the options.

Once you've added a block, you can also edit it. Move it, change the length, add a memo, and even delete it if you no longer need it. The first step to editing it is always to tap on the Block in your calendar. 

To edit the length of a Block

1. Tap the Block in your calendar
2. Tap "Edit" at the top right.

3. Tap "Start"
4. Tap "Duration" and set the new length, save, then tap the check at the top right.


Make sure you tap the check again at the top right to save your changes if you're finished editing your block. 

To add a Memo to a Block

Tap the block in your Calendar, tap Edit at the top right

  1. Tap into the memo field and edit your memo.
  2. Tap the check in the top right. Your block will now have a "memo" icon at the top right in the calendar

To delete a Block

Tap the block in your Calendar, tap Edit

  1. Tap Cancel Appointment at the bottom
  2. Tap Yes when asked to confirm.

↑ back to top ↑


Did this answer your question?